For TeachersMedia Tip of the WeekMr. DombrowskiMs. FrechetteMr. HarbachMrs. SultaireMr. Hoffman
This is the "Primary Sources" page of the "The Gilbert School Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Gilbert School Library  

Last Updated: Feb 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.gilbertschool.org/library Print Guide RSS Updates

Primary Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Smithsonian Collections

 

Mrs. Pillar's Pinterest Board

 

Citing Primary Sources

 

The Primary Source Librarian

 

Graphic Organizers

Library of Congress Resources

Join the Teaching With Primary Sources Network

 

Library of Congress Resources

Primary Source Sets

Teachers' Page

Exhibitions

 


 

10 Ways to Enrich Your Classroom with Primary Sources (Part 1)

10 Ways to Enrich Your Classroom with Primary Sources (Part 2)

Primary Sources and the Common Core State Standards

Assessing Historical Thinking Skills Using Primary Sources

 


Student Discovery Sets bring together historical artifacts and one-of-a-kind documents on a wide range of topics, from history to science to literature. Interactive tools let students zoom in, draw to highlight details, and conduct open-ended primary source analysis. Full teaching resources are available for each set.

   

      

  

      
     

    Digital Public Library of America

    Exploration of the Americas   The New Woman
    Exploration of the Americas                              The New Woman
    The Populist Movement   Attacks on American Soil: Pearl Harbor and September 11
    The Populist Movement                                    Attacks on American Soil 

    Colonial Religion   The Wounded Knee Massacre
    Colonial Religion                                               The Wounded Knee Massacre

    *The Crucible* by Arthur Miller   Rise of Conservatism in the 1980s
    The Crucible by Arthur Miller                            Rise of Conservatism in the 1980s

    Women and the Blues   *Beloved* by Toni Morrison
    Women and the Blues                                       Beloved by Toni Morrison

    Electrifying America    The Great Migration
    Electrifying America                                            The Great Migration
    The War of 1812   Northern Draft Riots During the Civil War
    The War of 1812                                                 Northern Draft Riots During the Civil War

    Rock 'n' Roll: Beginnings to Woodstock   Social Realism

    *To Kill a Mockingbird* by Harper Lee   Creating the US Constitution
    Secession of the Southern States   The New Deal
    Secession of the Southern States                     The New Deal

    Manifest Destiny   Henry Clay: The Great Compromiser
    Manifest Destiny                                                 Henry Clay: The Great Compromiser

    Cross-Cultural Colonial Conflicts   Shays' Rebellion
    Cross-Cultural Colonial Conflicts                        Shays' Rebellion

    The Hudson River School   *The Woman Warrior* by Maxine Hong Kingston
    The Hudson River School                                  The Woman Warrior by Maxine Hong Kingston

    Visual Art During the Harlem Renaissance   Women’s Suffrage: Campaign for the Nineteenth Amendment
    The Homestead Acts   The Scopes Trial
    The Homestead Acts                                           The Scopes Trial

    Postwar Rise of the Suburbs   The Freedmen's Bureau
    Postwar Rise of the Suburbs                             The Freedmen's Bureau

    The Panama Canal   The American Abolitionist Movement
    The Panama Canal                                              The American Abolitionist Movement

    American Imperialism: The Spanish-American War   *The Grapes of Wrath* by John Steinbeck
    The Spanish-American War                                 The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

    Negro League Baseball   Jacksonian Democracy?
    Negro League Baseball                                      Jacksonian Democracy?

    The Black Power Movement   American Indian Boarding Schools
    The Black Power Movement                             American Indian Boarding Schools

       

      Follow LOC on Twitter

      Chronicling America - LOC

       

      Every Photo Tells a Story

      Video Series & Exercises

      "Every Photo is a Story" is a five part video series in which reference librarian Kristi Finefield and architecture and landscape historian Sam Watters discuss the ways to uncover the story in a photograph. Viewers will learn the many ways to research and understand photographs. "Try It Yourself" exercises accompany each part, giving viewers a chance to apply skills learned during the video.

         

        Social Media

         

        Primary Sources on iTunesU

        Collections, Media, Apps and Courses! A treasure trove of resources.

         

          Other Resources

          National Archives Apps

          Infotopia

          Awesome Explanation of the Differences Betweein Primary & Secondary Sources

          15

          • Digital Public Library of America
            The DPLA brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world
          • DocsTeach
            We have selected thousands of primary source documents to bring the past to life as classroom teaching tools from the billions preserved at the National Archives. Use the search field above to find written documents, images, maps, charts, graphs, audio and video in our ever-expanding collection that spans the course of American history.
          • Founders' Archives
            CORRESPONDENCE AND OTHER WRITINGS OF SIX MAJOR SHAPERS OF THE UNITED STATES
          • Infotopia
            Kennedy Assassination, Resources by state, web guides, Archiving Early America, and much more!
          • Making Connections Through Poetry
            Documents, links, lesson plans & more!
          • Primary Sources Resource Binder
            Resources for every discipline
          • Primary Docs4Schools
          • TPS BARAT

            TPS-Barat provides free, engaging, project-based learning materials that use Library primary sources to foster student inquiry and personal connections to history and culture from the United States and beyond.
          • WEB LINKS
          • World Digital Library
            The World Digital Library makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
          • National Archives
            The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper
          • AMNH Digital Special Collections
            Digital Special Collections of the American Museum of Natural History’s Research Library provides access to our rich collections of digitized archival photographic images, art and memorabilia images and Rare Book Collection illustrations.
          • HistoryPin
            Share small glimpses of the past and build up the story of human history. Add photos and information to help build the database of local history.
          Description

          Loading  Loading...

          Tip