Skip to Main Content

The Gilbert School Library: Mrs. Sultaire / US History

Search our catalog, download e-books, contact a librarian and more!

Cool History Links

https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/

This site is a search engine for all the countries around the world.  It gives maps, historical information, population, government, etc.  It also gives extra facts such as which country has the highest Life Expectancy at birth and more.

http://hhs.twinriversusd.org/his-ss

This teacher created a Symbaloo of many different resources and games all centered around history and social studies.  There is really too much to go into detail.  All you have to do is click the link of your subject and the site pops up.  Very cool!

http://www.city-data.com/

This is site that will give you information on any city in the United States.


http://www.gosocialstudiesgo.com/

This site is a reference to anything Social Studies. After choosing get started you choose your subject area and topic and it gives you a simple introduction to what you’re studying.

http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html

This is a site that has access to original documents and artifacts related to specific historical searches.  It would be very helpful for anyone giving presentations or researching.

http://librarianscorner.net/Social%20Studies%20Resources.htm

Civil War Resources

Search the civil war trust website

 

 

Access civil war resources from PBS

        Check out the Interactive Maps & Biographies   

 

 

Access civil war resources from the Library of Congress

Library of Congress Resources

 

Search the National Archives                         Search the Civil War Homepage

         National Archives                                            The Civil War Homepage

 

Search the library of America

Check out the Online Exhibition

 

View the essential civil war curriculum

Essential Civil War Curriculum

 

View civil war resources from the Smithsonian

Civil War @ The Smithsonian

 

 

View the civil war academy webpage

Islam Today

Search global issues in context database

Search world history collection

 Search culturegrams database
Search pics for learning Penpals for kids, students & teachers, Blogs, Clubs, Educational games, Schools & Countries of the World
   
   
   

 

Look under the Apps, Apps, Apps tab for Scrapbooking/Collage apps.

     
     
     

 

General History Resources

History (U.S.)

For more information from the Library of Congress's Web site, see:

    • American Memory Digitized historic maps, manuscripts, motion pictures, sheet music, photographs and prints, sound recordings, sheet music and texts, from the collections of the Library of Congress and partner institutions.
    • Browse by Topic: American History Find digitized historical resources from the Library of Congress's collections.
    • Chronicling America This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages, 1880-1922, and find information about American newspapers published 1690-present.
    • Map Collections Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress.
    • Performing Arts Encylopedia Collections, articles and special presentations on music, theater and dance materials.
    • Prints and Photographs Online Catalog Catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress.
    • Veterans History Project The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war.